grafiklit

werewolves and the kitchen sink.

Freaky Texas: Yorktown Memorial Hospital


Yorktown, Texas. Seventy-five miles southeast of San Antonio.

Founded in 1950 by the Felician Sisters, a religious group that was part of the Roman Catholic church, Yorktown Memorial Hospital was originally designed for drug and alcohol rehabilitation. It closed sometime in the 1980s and soon developed a reputation for being haunted. If  you believe in that sort of thing. Hey, it’s almost Halloween.

The hospital has thirty thousand square feet of space; there’s a chapel, a main floor, a basement, and living space on the second floor. Plenty of room for the restless deceased to roam around in.

The hospital caretaker has reported seeing large black shapes (roughly the size of German shepherd dogs) and red, glowing eyes. There also have been reports of organ music coming from the chapel. This makes me wonder if there’s a particular tune that is played. Perhaps Rob Zombie’s “Dragula”?

dig through the ditches and burn through the witches i slam in the back of my dragula . . .

The hospital has been featured on Travel Channel’s Ghost Adventures. There’s also a website, but after reading it and discovering that you can book haunted slumber parties, I kind of lost a little respect. It seems to me that if it were really haunted, they’d work hard to keep people out of it. For, you know, safety reasons. Have you seen Poltergeist? Ghosts can do some nasty stuff.

http://yorktownhospital.com/

http://www.haunted-places-to-go.com/haunted-places-in-texas-1.html

4 comments on “Freaky Texas: Yorktown Memorial Hospital

  1. The Paranormalist
    10/13/2011

    I’d SO do a slumber party there!

    • kat
      10/13/2011

      You know, I would too . . . I know I sounded rather disdainful in my post, but it does sound like it would be pretty neat. And, I’ll admit it, a bit spooky too. I don’t know if I’d last till sunrise.

  2. sandylikeabeach
    10/13/2011

    I bet the organ music is Chopin’s Funeral March.

    • kat
      10/13/2011

      Ha-ha, I didn’t think of that one . . . good point. :)

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on 10/12/2011 by in halloween and tagged , , , , , , , , .

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 1,143 other followers

Follow me on Twitter

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,143 other followers

