Someday, the police will raid my house


. . . For, you know, normal reasons. And when they do, they’re going to have a field day with the stuff in my third bedroom/office.

Since the main character in my novel is a cop, I’ve collected a few cop-related books over the past couple years. I have a 1986 edition Texas Peace Officer manual (withdrawn from the Levelland, Texas, public library and obtained for a dollar), a 7th edition Police Field Operations manual (Barnes and Noble; it covers everything from traffic stops to how to handle a riot situation, very cool), and a 2007/2008 Texas Criminal and Traffic Law Manual. I also have a Shooter’s Bible, and a lot of books on forensics and body trauma.

I also own a neat book called Forensics and Fiction, by D.P. Lyle, M.D. Ever wonder what is the most merciful way to kill someone with a knife? Or if your character could hide inside a corpse? This book will tell you. It is kick ass.

But it, and the other books on my shelves, look a bit, well, odd. I also have books on story structure and character development, but come on. If SWAT comes bursting through my front door (again, for normal reasons), the first thing they’re gonna note are the cop books and my guide to wounds and injuries.

Damn though if the books don’t come in handy from time to time.

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

