Two. Freaking. Decades. Nevermind.


Today, September 24th, is the twentieth anniversary of Nirvana’s Nevermind album.

1991, man. I was fifteen years old, into Star Trek: The Next Generation to a degree that, looking back, may not have been totally healthy and was definitely socially limiting, and a virgin. The virgin part would stick around for a few more years. I didn’t have the money for the album (my parents were not the allowance-giving types), so when “Smells Like Teen Spirit” came on, I cranked it. Fortunately, it came on a lot. I didn’t give a crap about the deeper meaning behind the song–and I still don’t–I just thought it rocked. Remember the controversy over the naked floating baby album cover? Now, all I do is type nirvana nevermind into Yahoo! Images and there are rows and rows of naked floating baby.

I’m not trying to make any kind of point with that observation; I just thought it was odd.

I never bought the Nevermind album; I still don’t have it, or any songs from it on my iPod. Don’t ask me why. But when “Smells Like Teen Spirit” comes on the radio, I crank it.

 

 

One thought on “Two. Freaking. Decades. Nevermind.

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

