Werewolf bar mitzvah


 

damn you 30 rock!!!

Sorry. I was thinking about Halloween-type music, and Tracy Morgan/Tracy Jordan’s song from 30 Rock popped into my head. Now it won’t pop out.

I’m almost at the end of my Halloween-themed postings. Hope you’ve enjoyed this spooktacular jocular journey into the wild and wooly whatnot.

I have no idea what that last sentence means. Um, here are some songs that, while they aren’t specifically Halloween songs (no Monster Mash”, dear god, how I despise “Monster Mash”), are kinda scary. And if not scary, then at least unsettling.

“Sweet Dreams”, by Marilyn Manson. Kick-ass cover of the Eurythmics song. Slow and nightmarish. It’s a song to drink absinthe by.

“Li’l Red Riding Hood”, by Sam Sham and the Pharaohs. Catchy li’l tune, as sung by the Big Bad Wolf.

“Werewolves of London”, by Warren Zevon. “His hair was perfect . . .”

“Possum Kingdom”, by The Toadies. Possum Kingdom Lake is in Palo Pinto County, Texas. I read somewhere that the song was based on a series of murders that took place in the area in the ’80s, but you know how that goes.

“Stan”, by Eminem. I’m a closet Eminem fan. This song’s about a rather psychotic fan. Watch the music video for the full effect.

“Werewolf”, by Frantics. Howls, snarls, and some great guitar work.

“Bad Moon Rising”, by Creedence Clearwater Revival. I hear it, and I immediately think of An American Werewolf in London.

“Welcome to My Nightmare”, by Alice Cooper. Now he’s old and plays golf, but my parents had some of his records from Back in the Day, and they scared the piss out of me.

this is the alice cooper i grew up with.

“American Witch”, by Rob Zombie. It’s about the Salem witch trials. For creepitude, you really can’t go wrong with Rob Zombie. Or Korn, for that matter. Something about Jonathan Davis’s voice.

deep in murderous thinky-thoughts.

(Hey! Why no “Thriller”? asks anonymous blog person.)

(Because it’s kinda like “Monster Mash”; it’s become the go-to Halloween song. I am a bit tired of it. Although the video, with the werewolf and zombies and all, is pretty neat. And I liked the Glee episode where they covered the song.)

frank zappa just because.

 

 

7 thoughts on “Werewolf bar mitzvah

Add yours

  1. Nice 🙂 But I respectfully disagree on Monster Mash and Thriller. Although I would only listen to either for Halloween. I would also add “I Put A Spell On You” as seen in Hocus Pocus and Sinatra’s version of “Witchcraft”. Perhaps the 2nd isn’t right on the nose of Halloween, but I like it.

  2. I’ve never heard Sinatra’s “Witchcraft”, but then again, I don’t listen to much Sinatra. 🙂
    I almost listed “I Put a Spell on You”, but the Screamin’ Jay Hawkins version. I guess I got lazy . . . Rob Zombie and Marilyn Manson seem a bit obvious. Ah well.

  3. I also like Black Magic Woman by Santana and Spooky by the Atlanta Rhythm Section. I also have an Alice Cooper album (yes a vinyl LP) so I guess that means I’m old enough to be your mother.

    I loved your creepy October posts!

    1. Thanks! My parents even have the Jaws soundtrack on vinyl . . . somehow the music, with all the pops and crackles, is even scarier.

  4. Yeah . . . I sometimes do this stream-of-consciousness thing and some weird sentence stuff comes out. If I kept that, you should see what I delete.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

