Damn you, Anne Rice!


I spend quite a few life-minutes perusing Cracked (www.cracked.com), and I read an article by John Cheese in which he states that Generation X (of which I am part of) ruined the next generation.

http://www.cracked.com/blog/5-ways-we-ruined-occupy-wall-street-generation/?wa_user1=2&wa_user2=Weird+World&wa_user3=blog&wa_user4=trending_now

Wait, real quick: Beavis and Butt-Head! Pearl Jam! Nirvana! Flannel! Airwalks! Kevin Smith! Bill Clinton!

Had to get the ’90s nostalgia out of the way. Okay. We can proceed. (Beavis and Butt-Head are back on MTV, how awesome is that?!?!?)

please tell me i can dig my doc marten's out of the closet.

It’s a humor article, but Mr. Cheese does bring up some interesting points. But I must add a sixth way: my generation romanticized vampires. This led to the Twilight series. I am so very, very sorry.

I blame Anne Rice, as she is not here to defend herself. Granted, her novel Interview with the Vampire was published in 1976, but I argue that it did not become popular until the ’90s, with the movie in 1994 thereby causing the novel, and its sequels, to become bestsellers. Therefore, all that pouting-tortured-vampire bullshit? The fault of Generation X.

you smell of the sour grave.

What do you call a human being who dies after being bitten by an infected human being and comes back from the dead, cursed to feast upon the living?

A zombie. Also a vampire.

Thusly, vampire=zombie=I don’t get the vampires-are-so-romantic-and-cool thing.

Anonymous blog person: Okay, and werewolves are so great? They smell like wet dogs. Don’t they also feast upon the living?

Me: Yeah, but they aren’t dead. Important distinction. Plus, there’s more of that tortured existence that the kids nowadays find so fascinating. Vampires are vampires 24/7. Werewolves are humans for a good portion of the time, so when they change, they know what they lose.

Anonymous blog person: Blah, blah, blah. Hey, there are werewolves in Twilight. That make you feel better?

Me: Shut up.

8 thoughts on “Damn you, Anne Rice!

Add yours

  1. Anne Rice may have played a part in the romanticizing of vampires, but she had quite a following before the movie was released. I read the first four books in her vampire series as well as the Witching Hour and Lasher before the movie was released. As a fan of the books, I was quite disappointed in the movie – particularly the casting of it. Tom Cruise as Lestat was a major disappointment.

    1. Yeah, can’t get behind Tom Cruise as a vampire. Brad Pitt was okay.

      I remember suddenly seeing Anne Rice’s books everywhere during the movie’s release, even her erotic fiction, the whole Beauty series.

      Her son, Christopher Rice, is a writer as well; I’ve so far read only one of his books, but I enjoyed it.

      1. Really. His last name is VAKFELD and he is a direct descendent of Vlad Tepes. My boys wear this bit of family info like a BADGE.

      2. I don’t blame them; how many people can say they are directly related to Dracula? I would have that tattooed on my forehead.

        Well, maybe not.

    1. Emo . . . shudder. The Twilight thing reminds me of emo vampires . . . it combines the worst of the worst. Yeah, I guess we’re kind of even.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

