But it counts, right?


As of right now, I have 386 followers. Pretty good, right? I started this blog a couple of years ago and was happy when I had 1 follower, off the moon when I reached 10. One hundred was cause for celebration. Somewhere around that time, I think, was when I was Freshly Pressed, and my numbers jumped a bit.

Then I hit 200, then 300, and now . . . I dunno. I notice that a lot of my followers have WordPress blogs with names like advertisinginflatable and localareanews. They seem a . . . bit spam-ish. And their posts don’t sound very interesting: Clean Your Carpets Daily With Our Refresher! just doesn’t, you know, grab me.

Has anyone else encountered this? I’m getting followers almost daily, yay, but they all seem to be junk. It’s like once you reach a certain number of followers, the spam starts noticing you. (Although Akismet does an excellent job of weeding out the spam messages, so cool beans.)

Not complaining, I like having triple digit followers. But it seems to be a matter of quality versus quantity. I’d like to know that real people are reading my stuff, and not bots.

For all I know, though, advertisinginflatable may have the funniest damn blog on this site.

One thought on “But it counts, right?

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

