The Astros! And the Yankees!


 

 

 

IMG_5226On September 29 this year, I took my brother and his friend to see the Astros take on the Yankees. The Astros lost, 5-1, over a butt-numbing 14 innings. Our seats were in the 13th row, near first base. Have to say, I had better seats earlier in the season, when Mom and I went to see them take on the Angels (we were on the opposite side of the field, closer to home plate). 

 

 

IMG_5191This guy.

IMG_5166

View from below the train that circles the upper deck of Minute Maid Park when the Astros hit a home run. It did not circle that day. 

IMG_5304

Yankees pitcher Brett Marshall, delivering a pitch to . . . um, some guy. I kept a score card, something I’d never done before, and it got a bit muddled. This is in the 6th or 7th inning, my card tells me that much. He probably struck the guy out. It happened a lot that day. 

The Astros had a dismal season, as did the Yankees, so neither team rolled out its money players. This was also Mariano Rivera’s final season, and the Astros honored him with a painting by a local artist. Overall, I had a great time. I love watching baseball live, and I intend to take in some local high school games next season.

The technical shutterbug stuff: feel free to skip this part.

I used a Canon Rebel EOS Ti4, bouncing between a Sigma 70-300 mm 1:4-5.6 telephoto and a Canon EF 50 mm 1:1.4. I used primarily aperture priority mode, though I did switch down to sports mode now and then. I didn’t do much processing with these pics; I ran them through iPhoto, but the quick edit stuff didn’t look right.

 

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

